Tanning and Manikins – but not the tanning and mannequins you are used to.

 

Sorry for my delayed post. . . an update on yesterday’s happenings:

 

We arrived to class and picked up where where we left off. . . which is to say that we were in the middle of “splitting lips.”  I will spare you the details, I think you can figure it out.  From there, we went on to fleshing – removing the fat from the inside of the hide.  As luck would have it, it turns out my fox was on some kind of diet prior to his demise.  He really didn’t have much fat on him.  I guess this is beginners luck, but I will take it.  Our manikins (and no, I am not spelling it wrong)  arrived during our lunch break.  My fox will be walking and looking at something behind him.  (I know, it sounds dynamic!)  We also trimmed out some excess bits here and there and generally spent time working with scalpels and animal hides dripping with tanning cream.  A good time was had by all.  My classmates are a great bunch of guys and have been supportive and fun.  I am the only non-hunter in the group and although I know quite a bit about salt water fishing, I wouldn’t know the difference between a walleye and a musky if my life depended on it.  I am the naive city-slicker hanging with the experts.  

 

During the afternoon, Dennis demonstrated the beginnings of mounting a bear skin rug.  It involves glue, lots of T-pins and a small amount of muttering under one’s breath.

Image

Pelts dripping dry after being washed in Tide.  It is like doing furry laundry.

Image

Bear rug parts and snacks!

Image

Fish in the works

 

Image

Everyone knows deer love power tools.

Image

Rinehart’s tanning cream – I don’t recommend drinking out of those solo cups.

Image

My fox manikin, in two parts.

Image

Head in a dog dish

Image

Base for Zach’s bobcat chasing a pheasant.

Image

Dennis working on the bear.

Image

Say  “Ahhhhhhhhhhhh”

 

3 thoughts on “Tanning and Manikins – but not the tanning and mannequins you are used to.

  1. Please don’t make one of those talking fish that hang on the wall!!! Haha. The bear look cute like you would want to pet him?

  2. I’m really glad you’re doing this, I always wondered how this was done, not that I would want to do it myself. Some great still-life compositions in the photos too.

Leave a Reply

