“Garden and Gun” magazine, a guy who knows about Carl Akeley and the world’s greatest shower.

Where do I begin?  I just returned from a trip to Charleston, SC where I installed a solo exhibition of works from my Wunderkammer series.  Charleston is a really hip town filled with very friendly folks, lots of art galleries AND some of the best restaurants south of the Mason-Dixon line.  Needless to say, a good time was had by all.  Here is a highlight reel of sorts:

1.  There is a magazine called “Garden and Gun” and somehow the universe failed to let me know about it until now.  The conversation went something like this:  Teri:  Hey, do you know about that taxidermy artist here in Charleston?  She was just featured in Garden and Gun.  Me:  (brain melting) I’m sorry, did you just say there is a magazine called Garden and Gun?  Teri:  Yeah, it’s about southern living.. .here, let me look it up on my iPhone. .  Her story checks out.  Here is a link to the article about Becca Barnet who should probably be a friend of mine:

http://gardenandgun.com/article/arts-the-right-stuff

Garden-and-Gun-Magazine-Red-Clay-Soul

2.  On friday night, I gave an artist talk at the opening of my Wunderkammer exhibition at Redux.  During the talk, I asked the audience if anyone was familiar with Carl Akeley.  To my delighted shock, one guy immediately chimed in “yes, he is the father of modern taxidermy.”  As it turns out, the man in question was from NJ (of course) and had recently relocated to Charleston to start a new restaurant.  I am ashamed to say that I can’t remember the name of the upcoming restaurant – but anyone who knows about Carl Akeley and Rachel Poliquin is on my list of cool folks and probably will have an amazing joint.

3.  The restaurant scene in Charleston is epic.  Lots of good southern food and lots of good bourbon.  As an added bonus, Walter and I trekked to McClenanville, SC to visit Buckshot restaurant which served up LOTS of amazing southern food.  The place is owned and operated by the family of Greg Colleton, the director of operations at Redux.  He called ahead to warn them we were coming. . . the phrase “southern hospitality” does not do the meal we received justice.

4  Meet Bubba and check out my show at Redux:

02bubba

This is Bubba.  His real title is “Shabby Chic” but you can call him Bubba for short.

01bubba1

a side view of Bubba

01installbuster

Buster was the hit of the opening.  I should have charged for photos.  I am pretty sure he is blowing up instagram right now.  Suffice it to say:  the ladies LOVE Buster.

03install

Not to be outdone, Sheldon is hanging under his bell jar. The ladies also love Sheldon.

5.  Finally, I can’t post about Charleston without mentioning the world’s greatest shower.  Trust me.  Although it is hard to show in a photo, the shower is the approximate size of our old apartment in Brooklyn and it includes a shower head the size of a NY pizza.  Thanks to the folks at Robert Lange Studios for putting us up in the luxe accommodations!

shower

6.  Here is a picture of a smiling ray at the Charleston Aquarium:

iphone_0035

7.  Here is a picture of from South of the Border:

iphone_0036

I guess that covers it.  If you are interested in gift ideas for me, I could sure use a subscription to Garden and Gun, but then again, who can’t?

Leave a Reply

