Sometimes one is just not enough. . . and some new work.

A few weeks back, I was driving down route 31 here in the Garden State when I noticed a lovely wasp’s nest hanging off a low branch on the side of the road. After borrowing a pair of pruning shears from my ever indulgent in-laws, I managed to down the nest and bring it home to my studio. Sadly, it did suffer a bit of damage in the process but I felt victorious all the same.

Here is the nest in question – pictured with our “Presidents of the United States” plate featuring tricky Dick Nixon. ..

IMG_0901_0138

Fast forward to a few days before Christmas. I arrive home to Rhode Island. My mother (not knowing anything of my recent acquisition) says “Hey, there is a really great Wasp’s nest hanging from a branch on Tuckertown Road across from the Crother’s house. It would be great for a photo. . . you are going to need a pole saw.”

Thus begins my latest ridiculous saga. My (also) ever indulgent husband offered to assist in acquiring the nest. He did so in his LL Bean slippers. This is the scene:

Walter is standing on top of his mini van (complete with car seat) wearing slippers in lieu of shoes and holding a pole saw. I am on the ground (wearing sensible boots) holding a large net just below the nest. A few swipes of the saw in and we see flashing red and blue lights.

Here is the net:

IMG_0954_0136

Police officer: (in an impeccable Rhode Island accent): Whaddya crazy!?!?!?!?!?
Walter: my wife is.
Police officer: Get down from there. This is a wickid’ bad corna’ I don’t want to see you guys get hurt.

Although we pretend to be contrite, we are not daunted.  On Christmas day, Walter enlists the help of my brother and my nephew Chapin.  Walter finishes his work with the pole saw and my brother and Chapin catch the nest “fireman style” in an old bed sheet.

I am working on a new series.  I am not sure where it is going, but it does involve portraits of real living people (and one dog).

Here is the new nest.  Honestly, it is astoundingly beautiful:

IMG_0964_0135

I like to think I put the nest to good use.  My niece Sage is quite the model:

sage

There are a few landscapes as well. .

portraitwaterdrop

My nephew Chapin is equally amazing in front of the camera.

ChapinPortrait

Like I said, a few landscapes as well.

reflectedLandscape

 

I think the series will be called “And some in Dreams”

“And some in dreams assured were of the spirit that plagued us so; Nine fathom deep he had followed us from the land of mist and snow . . . ”

Coleridge, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

Happy New Year. All images ©Kimberly Witham.  Reproduction prohibited.

3 thoughts on “Sometimes one is just not enough. . . and some new work.

  1. Kimberly
    What a saga! How did you know the nests were unoccupied??
    Love the landscapes. as u know I luv mysterious landscapes!!!!
    Wasp nests, past presidents, landscapes and family portraits., what a combination.

  2. Happy New Year to you and your family! If at any time, even in the distant future, you decide you’d like to find another home for those nests let me know; great little paper makers them wasps.

Leave a Reply

